Over the course of the weekend I read the entire Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest. This was a mean feat as these books are over 500 pages long a piece. I was up until 2am this morning finishing off TGWKTHN.

I’ve had TGWTDT in my To Be Read pile for well over a year. It was so thick and Swedish I thought it would take forever to finish. WRONG! About 200 pages in I could not put it down. There is a series of reveals that suck you in and won’t let you out. From Saturday night onwards I ignored Alex and read. When I finished the first book on Sunday morning I immediately downloaded the second to my iPad, and there I stayed in bed reading and drinking coffee (they drink a lot of coffee in these books so it was kind of meta). By 4pm on Sunday book number two was done and such a cliff hanger I greedily downloaded book number three. But, because I was feeling light headed and couldn’t focus took a break and went for an early dinner.  Sunday night I returned to the scene of the crime with a super strong latte and I just had to know how it ended before I closed my eyes. I can never stay up late but it was such a complex and compelling story it kept me awake.

I don’t want to give anything away about the plot as I came to them cold, and it was all the better without spoilers but what I will say is that they are focused around the relationship between journalist, Mikael Blomkvist, and a heavily tattooed research assistant, Lisbeth Salander. Salander is one of the best anti-heroes that I’ve read in a long while. She is up there with Nora storming out of the Doll House, and not only could she wipe the floor with Bella she could kick the vampire and the werewolf’s arses.

And now after a full day on only 4 hours sleep I am tired, disorientated (keep forgetting I am not in Sweden and all our IKEA furniture doesn’t help) and sad that there are no more stories about Blomkvist and Salander.

Comments
  1. BookishlyFab says:

    Funny, I just wrote a blurb for my library’s publication about what to read if you finished The Milennium Trilogy. Have you read Henning Mankel’s Wallander books? I have a whole list of comparable authors if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

