The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

Posted: 06/08/2010 in books, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

This is an amazing book – raw and unnerving. The story centers on the consequences of a non-family member slapping a misbehaving child at a barbecue in suburban Melbourne. How the reverberations can be felt not only by those directly involved but by everyone in their social sphere. Sides are taken. New alliances against old. Cultural differences come to the forefront, and not everything is as straightforward as it would first appear. Each chapter is from a different characters point of view, and moves the plot on. This is no Vantage Point, you don’t have to relive the slap umpteen times.

My enjoyment was probaly heightened by reading it on a long train journey to a potentially fraught (because aren’t they all?) large family gathering and that it was the first non-school book I’d read since January (and that is a long time to go without escapist fiction). I also had just over 24hrs to read it before I flew home and needed to finish it so that my mum so she could take it on holiday. All in all that made it an intense read and I wish more of Christos Tsiolkas books were available outside of Australia because he weaves a cracking tale.

Comments
  1. BookishlyFab says:

    I’m really looking forward to reading this. I didn’t have time for it when I got in on hold at the library, but hopefully I’ll get to it soon.

Leave a Reply

