Why I left FaceBook

Posted: 05/19/2010 in Navel gazing, Uncategorized
Tags:

Deep in the middle of my exam funk I decided to delete my FaceBook account. This, of course, hurts me more than FaceBook. I was only one of a zillion users to FaceBook but I “lost” contact with ninety odd friends and family.

I did not leave FaceBook because of privacy issues (whatever I have on FB I have also put out into the internets via Twitter, Four Square and this blog) but because I had enough of them dicking users about with their ever changing policies AND the introduction of their tyrannical ‘likes’ buttons.  Every time FB moved the goal posts I would diligently go online and flip all my settings back to private and no sharing with third parties. After this last tranche of changes I thought I caught every thing until I set my status to  ‘Leah is going to watch Agora’, and this magically churned out ‘Leah likes Agora via IMDB’.

Well frak you FB I decide what I like and don’t. And I decide where I put my information not you.

Comments
  1. Ange says:

    Hi Leah,

    I have to agree with all that!

    Just wanted to see how you are. We are over due waiting for the baby to come, and moving house in three weeks, so things are more than a little mental round here.

    Drop me an email when you have time!

    Ange
    xxx

Leave a Reply

