Darwin-Dawkins-Tyson

Posted: 10/21/2009 in Navel gazing, pop science
Tags: , ,

I’ve just got back from seeing Richard Dawkins read extracts from his latest book ‘The Greatest Show on Earth’ and answer a few (tame) questions from the audience. He’s a slick orator and it was worth squishing myself into the crowded bookstore to listen. I’ve been a fan of Dawkins since his ‘Blind Watchmaker’ days, which I read in High School, and  I never imagine that +15 yrs later he’d been a rock star atheist (and that I’d be seeing him do a book reading in NYC).  Once the Q & A started I began to navigate my way towards the front of the store, ready to make my escape and guess who I spied typing away at his MacBook Air – Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson. Astrophysicist and Director of Hayden Planetarium.  Dr. Tyson is also a regular guest on The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, and whenever he is on Stewart and Colbert act like giddy school boys.  It’s nice that given the range of guests they get on their programs they show genuine excitement for the astrophysicist.

Leave a Reply

