One step away from a perm

Posted: 10/15/2009 in Navel gazing
Tags: , , ,

When I was little my granny use to berate my mum for “brushing out my curls”. Given that I could never remember a time when I had curls and that my hair was pretty straight I put it down to a granny-ism. Like her claim that the allies bombed Pearl Harbor to get the Americans into the war or that public toilets are to be feared (she would have loved those paper toilet seat covers). Then I moved to NYC and I gradually got wavy hair.  Faux wave, but wave none the less.  Maybe it is a climate thing or my granny channeling curls from the other side.

When I got my hair chopped and bleached last month I started trying to work the messy bed head look. A friend suggested I try Bumble & Bumble Surf Spray and it was love at first tousle. I’ve been experimenting with whether it’s better on damp or dry hair, if damp should I spray and then blow dry or just scrunch scrunch scrunch. Today the weather conditions and the scrunching paid off and I think I nailed surfer chick hair. And my granny was right my mum did brush out my curls!

Leave a Reply

