Lazy Days

Posted: 10/11/2009 in Navel gazing
Tags: , , ,

Woo hoo it’s a long weekend, and I’ve spent two-thirds of it curled up on the couch with my boy.  Now he has packed his wheelie suitcase, headed off into the sunset (again), and I am left to knock about the empty flat and study. STUDY! I’ve managed to catch-up with Pompeii and I’ve actually done the prep work for the first seminar which isn’t until the end of the month. Now I need to do the same with Greek drama tomorrow – fun! But now I get to watch Mad Men, and think about not having to go to work tomorrow.

Actually, what I am thinking about is how our apartment block is offering to upgrade the flat’s kitchen and bathroom. This is an obvious ploy to keep the current residents from moving out to one of the many new apartment buildings that are touting for business at the mo. The only catch on having your apartment upgraded is that your rent goes up by $130 per month and you have to sign on for another year. We went to take a look at one of the upgraded apartments and it was okay. Not really worth the extra $130 per month when consider that you can get a comparable apartment for less in the new building. When I told one of the building sales people that it looked “great” but it wasn’t worth $130 he shrugged and was like “whatever”. Given that when I look out of the window at our adjcent building there are so many unlit apartments you’d think they’d put up more of a fight to sell you on staying. Heigh ho I guess we’ll be looking for new place come ’10 unless they manage to rustle up a non-renovated discount.

Leave a Reply

