One Book

Posted: 08/06/2006 in books

A book me me me that has been doing the rounds.



  1. One book that changed your life: Homer’s Odyssey, it opened my eyes and taught me that classics is for everyone and not just civil servants.
  2. One book that you’ve read more than once: Despite my brusque manner I am a hopeless romantic who adores Austen’s Persuasion because it is not that often that the quiet bookish girl gets the dashing captain (usually they get stuck with the software engineer).
  3. One book you’d want on a desert island: Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo
  4. One book that made you laugh: Alan Bennett’s Writing Home
  5. One book that made you cry: Alan Bennett’s Writing Home
  6. One book that you wish had been written: A Rebus prequel or two because he is rapidly approaching retirement (Rebus not Rankin) and selfishly I don’t want the series to end.
  7. One book you wish had never been written: Tulip Fever, such rubbish and I felt cheated when reading it… nearly as bad as Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories.
  8. One book you’re currently reading: Ibsen’s A Doll’s House.
  9. One book you’ve been meaning to read: Just the one I’ve got shelves full of books I have been meaning to read… picked at random The Bonfire of the Vanities.

(Tagging is tedious so feel free to help yourself and let me know so I can come across to have a butchers.)

Comments
  1. iliana says:

    How far are you in the Rebus series? I’ve only read 3 or 4 books. They are great.

    And, oh no, I did enjoy Tulip Fever and Case Histories πŸ™‚

  2. Alex says:

    I think Leah has read every one of the Rebus. At least that’s what they look like on her bookshelf…

  3. leah says:

    Alex is right, I have read all the Rebus books and am champing at the bit waiting for the next one to be published (which isn’t until October).

    But, it should be worth waiting for as it is set around the G8 summit.

  4. Daisy says:

    Another reminder that I need to stop reading so many blogs and start reading books again, dammit!

  5. Leah says:

    So many books/blogs/birkenstocks so little time πŸ™‚

  6. Margaret says:

    I’ve read all the Rebus books, and they are fabulous. Rankin should be bringing out a new one soon; it seems like it’s been a few years. I used to read a Scottish author named Mcilvanney who was excellent, but he only wrote a book every 7 years or so.(and nothing recently)

Leave a Reply

