a weekend of sport and abandoning novels

Posted: 06/26/2006 in books, Daily Grumbling

I made it to page 100 of Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children and decided to call it quits. I found it annoying, unduly muddled and this summer is too short to struggle with something that I am only enjoying in patches. I faired slightly better with Kate Mosse’s Labyrinth, in the sense I got to page 237, the latest challenge from Reading Matters. To cleanse my palette I read a PD James (I am slowly working my way through the Adam Dalgliesh back catalogue) and now I am speeding my way through an Inspector Brunetti mystery. In fact inspired my Brunetti (or rather his wife) I came home and cooked a rather tasty shrimp and asparagus risotto.

Leave a Reply

