day of rest

Posted: 05/28/2006 in Daily Grumbling

I don’t have to go anywhere or see anyone.  Phew!

The last few weeks have been gruelling and all consuming with my mind solely focused on things classical. Now exams are behind me, summer stretches out in front and I have lots of things to look forward to, but I did have fun being a full-time NYLON for a month. I caught up with a few friends and more importantly I got to spend a lot of time with the parental units. 

My dad was my on call chauffeur, dutifully picking me up from my flights and dropping me off at my mum’s in deepest darkest SE London.  He is currently working at the Beeb, I met him for lunch a few times at Television Centre and got to see the Blue Peter garden!  It is much smaller than I remember, but very cool all the same. The only problem was when I got back to work there was no-one who could fully appreciate the significance of my experience and I just got confused looks when I tried to explain the concept of the Blue Peter show….’sticky back plastic’…..’collecting tin foil’…..’Tracy Island’……’how to hibernate a tortoise’….

With each of my trips I made sure that we organised a night at the theatre with my mum. We saw  a solid production of The Crucible, with Iain Glen as John Proctor and the possessed girls were not too OTT. Next up was Hayfever with Judi Dench, Peter Bowles and a very strong supporting cast. It was just perfect, a gentle farce were no one gets hurts and you have a jolly good laugh as the mishaps unfold.  Finally, Titus Andronicus at the Globe which was the cherry on top. It is awesome; a raw and energetic production.  Douglas Hodge’s turn as Titus is magnificent and pulled off the tragi-comedy balance. It is a gruesome play, but the second half is very much a black comedy of sorts.  I am definitely ready for the Romans, bring ’em on .

Comments
  1. birdy says:

    Sounds like you are doing some great unwinding!

    I have to ask though – what is a NYLON?

  2. Daisy says:

    I’d have loved to have been a fly on the wall as you explained the Blue Peter concept 😉

    I used to have a bit of a crush on Douglas Hodge back in Capital City days. I was going to say that it’s a crying shame that he’s not done much film/tv since but looking at his imdb profile it seems that he has, I’ve just not seen them. Ahem.

  3. leah says:

    Sorry for the delay….re-entering the Matrix and all that….. a NYLON is someone who splits their time bewteen New York and LONdon.

    I had a HUGE crush on Douglas Hodge in Capital City….he was looking a little worn in Red Cap but worth a look see if they repeat it on UK Gold 😉

    I read in the Evening Standard that 4 people fainted at Titus Andronicus – fantastic!

Leave a Reply

