iconic

Posted: 03/21/2006 in Food and Drink

Last week the girlfriend of one of Alex’s colleagues gave us a box of Girl Scout cookies and I don’t think she was prepared for my over excited reaction. You’d think I had never seen over-priced packaged baked goods before. We (Johnny foreigner) don’t have Girl Scout cookies, they are something we only learn about second hand in pop culture. She very kindly ordered some more for us and today we took delivery of Lemon Drops and All Abouts (shortbread with inspiring ideals on them). I intend to share the love and post a box off to the Giver of Life. They might not make it in time for Mother’s Day, but luckily I already got her the Battlestar Galactica mini-series. Who needs flowers, when you can give Cylons!

Comments
  1. jennifer c. says:

    Oh my goodness, they are a weakness for me. It is all about Thin Mints and Caramel Delites!

  2. Clare says:

    I would have been similarly impressed!

    Mind you, if I’d grown up over there I would have ended up eating the lot just so I didn’t have to try and sell them, or hiding them in the local graveyard and pretending to have been mugged. I used to hate it when we did the annual primary school sponsored run, because I simply couldn’t cope with the whole business of asking people for sponsorship money, and then having to own up to how little you’d collected. I used to keep “forgetting” to bring in form + money, until it was too late and everyone had moved on – at which point I would agonise over what to do with the 57p I had collected… eventually using it to buy a chocolate bar and feeling terribly terribly guilty.

  3. Shannon says:

    I’m homesick now! Girl Scout Cookies and Battlestar Gallactica (known also as one of the many shows on the Scifi Channel that doesn’t exist here). I’m officially going through withdrawals. Sniff. Twitch. Sniff. Twitch.

  4. Leah says:

    jennifer c. – I haven’t dared try the Thin Mints as they sound seriously addictive.

    clare – I seemed to spend my entire childhood avoiding anything that was too formal or organised (not big on group activities) and anything that would involve me collecting sponsorship. The pressure!

    Shannon – Do you get Tim Tams in NZ, or are they only in Australia? So moorish, and perfect for dunking in tea! It is cruel to be in a country that does not show BSG. I must say that a multi-regional DVD player and Amazon.co.uk does make it much easier being an expat!

  5. Shannon says:

    Yes, Tim Tams are abundant here. Let’s do a swap. I’ll trade you Tim Tams for a couple of boxes of Thin Mints. Humanitarian Aid!

    Thank God for Multi-zone DVD players! I just finished the first season of Stargate Atlantis. I hope to catch a few episodes in when I’m home next month.

Leave a Reply

