Resistance

Posted: 11/29/2005 in Daily Grumbling

I find assimilation back into the “real” world a tad traumatic after a prolonged study period. In the words of Bonnie Tyler “Where have all the good men gone, And where are all the gods? Where’s the street-wise Hercules, To fight the rising odds?”. It gets worse though. I find it particularly harsh readjusting to civilian life after spending my lunch hour power-housing my way through the bloodlust and warrior code of The Illiad. It is some what anti-climatic to return to answering the phone and using excel.

Comments
  1. Stephen says:

    I’ve had a similar thing…often with moral situations. A lot of the more graphic poetry tends to set me giggling in an ancient greek manner…and then I suddenly realise what I’m giggling at, and the modern me gets a shock and tries to ignore what it was giggling at.

    Strangely, though, the violence and blood is much easier to live with 😉

Leave a Reply

