Storage

Posted: 11/28/2005 in Daily Grumbling

Using my skills as a soothsayer I can foresee that today will be a challenge. Okay, no mystical powers needed just extrapolating on from the fact that we will be without water in the office for the day as they are carrying out some building work. Last week it was hinted that we might close the office at noon if we are still without water, I shall as ever play today by ear. But, if it is quiet as the BIG peeps might work from home I might get to work on my cinematic musings.

Overall I had a relaxing and quite productive weekend (and nothing really says rock ‘n’ roll like waking at 6am on a Sunday to read about the Peloponnesian war). Inspired by a post over at the Guardian’s Culture Vulture blog on the shelving of books, I ordered another set of book shelves. I decided it was a bit greedy for me to monopolize all three of our current book shelves, whilst half of Alex’s are still in boxes. Judging by the comments to the post I am perfectly normal in my anal separation by categories and then alphabetized by author. Though it maybe a little odd that I keep all my good literature in the bedroom as I am comforted by having it close by when I sleep. By good lit I mean all my black spine Penguin classics (except the Ancients), the cream of the 20th century (Greene, Waugh, Lawrence, Orwell, etc) and my mysteries 🙂 I can’t wait for the new shelves, as I find it impossible to store books two deep as it makes my feel claustrophobic, so they have been piled up in a higgley-piggley fashion.

Comments
  1. iliana says:

    You’ll have to post a pic of the new shelves!

  2. Fi says:

    I love getting new shelves. Another excuse to keep buying books!

    (Mine are ordered alphabetically, in published order)

  3. leah says:

    Shelves should hopefully arrive today, and project for this evening will be reorganising all my books! Who said lying was the most fun a girl could have with her clothes on!

Leave a Reply

