Is that another book list you have there?

Posted: 11/01/2005 in books

I saw this over at Kimbofo and I just had to write a little post about the Harvard Book Store staff’s favourite 100 books . Partly cos I wanted to see how many of those books I had read, and because I REFUSE to believe that A People’s History of the United States is anyone’s number one. It is one of those weighty tomes that I see people carry about all the time (but note carrying not reading). Hell, I tried to read it when I first moved over, Alex tried to read it and my mum started on this dry book.

The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Lolita by Sting Vladmir Nabokov

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell

The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol

Anna Karenina by Tolstoy

Dracula by Stoker

The Handmaid’s Tale by Atwood

Persuasion by Austen

Where the wild Things Are by Sendak

The Bell Jar by Plath

The Count of Monte Cristo by Dumas

Goodbye to All That by Graves

The Sun Also Rises by Hemingway

The Breakfast of Champions by Vonnegut

Three books on the list that I am currently reading The Iliad, Republic and History of the Peloponnesian War. I have to say that I find the Harvard Book Store a little bit skewed and stuffy, it appears to be missing a few fun titles (an Agatha Christie or a Donna Leon). I am quite chuffed about Persuasion as it is my favourite Austen. But personally I prefer Slaughter House Five over Breakfast of Champions.

Leave a comment