Light Summer Reading

Posted: 09/08/2005 in books, Daily Grumbling

Despite my best efforts I ended up in a bookshop during my lunch hour, browsing for some holiday reading of a worthy stature. Twenty minutes previous, I’d discovered that my educational materials had not been shipped and I needed something to placate myself. In the British section I found the next Commissario Brunetti mystery, Fatal Remedies. That alone lowered the blood pressure a few beeps. Even though I don’t have a syllabus I figured that I wouldn’t be deviating too far if I snapped up a copy of Plato’s The Republic (before those pesky NYU students get their grubby hands on it), and then something caught my eye…Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations. Repeat after me Marcus Aurelius, drips off the tongue like melted butter.

– What’s that you’re reading?

Oh, just Marcus Aurelius’ musings. You know an ancient blog of sorts.

– Hmm, Marcus Aurelius you say. Doesn’t Commissario Brunetti favour him?

(mumbles something and vanishes into cyberspace)

And you it would appear favour fictional detectives.

Comments
  1. iliana says:

    Ancient blog – I love that. I’m on the fourth Brunetti mystery and I am quite hooked on the series.

  2. eric says:

    I can’t agree with you more. I have an old Harvard Classics edition which I just love. It’s like a better blend of cognitively connected Western Scripture, intelligent, non-invasive self-help and Eastern Scripture that apprecitates, allows and encourages an empty space within oneself.
    Came across your blog via NYCBloggers from mobility at coolhunting.com via a findory link found from a list of pictures of Katrina.
    also want to put in a plug for Cedric Liqueur who came to my campus in Vermillion SD tonight and was amazing in his one-man version of Romeo and Juliet.
    Might we all find beauty, focus and something tastey that tantalizes those around us….mmmmmarcus

    Eric

  3. Kate says:

    I absolutely love reading your blog. You genuinely don’t seem to realise how pretentious you sound. Keep up the good work, it’s hilarious!

  4. Leah says:

    Wow, I woke up to 3 comments this morning. I am a very lucky blogger 🙂

    Iliana, I am so glad your are enjoying Leon’s cosy mysteries. Everytime I start one I feel like I am going on vacation to Venice 🙂

    Kate, it’s all carefully balanced so I am just pretentious enough to stop myself going mad in a day job that isn’t particulary challenging.

    Eric, I’ll let you know how I find Marcus.

Leave a Reply

