opportunity knocks, but anxiety is just behind

Posted: 08/01/2005 in Daily Grumbling

I can tell already that it is going to be one of those weeks. I can see the writing on the wall from the sofa. It is hot and humid, which is only going to add to my mood and state of mind. I don’t think it is going to dip below thirty any time soon. The long awaited course registration documents were posted from London on Friday, so I should get them before the end of the week. I am of course typically pessimistic that I wont get the units I want. But, at this stage in the game any units be them Roman or Greek are better than none. Next on my worrying for nothing list, how do I pay for the blasted course. I have the funds, but what is going to be the simplest way to get them from dollars to sterling. I worry needlessly about bouncing cheques or wires gone astray. I know I’ll rest easy, stop complaining once everything is sorted.

My fun activity for the week is to try and read Homer’s The Iliad by Friday. I think I am developing an unhealthy obsession with Odysseus. Hektor and Achilleus are well and good, but both are flawed and Odysseus is a complete man. There is a wonderful description of him in the introduction of the translation by Richmond Lattimore. Describing Odysseus as sophron (untranslatable), you don’t necessarily have superior intellect outright, but you make maximum use of the little grey cells you have been blessed with. Something we should all strive for.

Leave a Reply

