artsy

Posted: 04/04/2005 in film

I saw Being Julia a month ago, during its final week of release (it is already out on DVD), and despite hearing good things about it I had dragged my feet in going to see it. I thought, incorrectly, that it was going to a serious piece about the theatrical world, like The Dresser. Instead of a drab and intense drama I got an eloquent and delightful period piece all about love and revenge. I fear I might give something away if I say too much, and that would ruin it! But, let me just say that revenge is a dish best served cold.

My favorite Woody Allen film is Radio Days, a collection of fairy tales concerning a radio station in the 30s and how they affect a young boy (and his family). A close second would have to be Bullets Over Broadway, can you beat the combined talent of John Cusack and Woody Allen – I think not. My third is The Mighty Aphrodite, where a Greek chorus comment on the lives of Manhattanites. And my fourth is Allen’s latest yarn: Melinda and Melinda. Rather gently, very subtle and yet deeply satisfying. As always an outstanding ensemble, but Radha Mitchell is an inspired lead – a modern, urban spiky Mia Farrow. Me likey.

Leave a Reply

