no, surely not another book mememe??

Posted: 03/27/2005 in Me Me Me

I would not wish to disappoint Daisy by not joining in with this literary mememe.

You’re stuck inside Fahrenheit 451, which book do you want to be?

I think I would want to be Lady Chatterly’s Lover, not only is it beautifully written but I would never be short of company!

Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character?

Oh, yes. I used to harbor a wee flame for Mr Rochester and Mr de Winter, but few years ago they were dethroned by Captain Wentworth.

The last book you bought:

I have a British Amazon parcel winging its way to me, that contains:

  • Goddess, Whores, Wives and Slaves: Woman in Classical Antiquity
  • Learn Ancient Greek
  • Closer (the Patrick Marber play – I want to know what was left out of the film)

The last book you read:

Acqua Alta by Donna Leon, one of the Commissario Guido Brunetti mysteries. A very enjoyable cosy read.

What are you currently reading?

I am ashamed to admit it, but yet again I have several books lurking on my bedside table. Starting from the top of the pile…. Les Liasons Dangereuses, In the footsteps of Alexander the Great, A Winter’s Tale, Portrait in Sepia and Middlemarch.

Five books you would take to a desert island:

Really I should take the five mentioned above, but in case I leave them behind on the bedside table I could make do with:

  • The Quiet American by Graham Greene
  • The End of the Affair by Graham Greene
  • Persuasion by Jane Austen
  • A complete works of Jeeves and Wooster by PG Wodehouse
  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Who will I pass it on to?

Whomever is interested, but I think that the Giver of Life needs to get a blog.

Leave a Reply

