holy sith

Posted: 03/14/2005 in film

I finally got around to watching the Star Wars: Episode 3 trailer. I think it is impossible to quantify my excitement about this film. I do not indulge in bashing Episodes 1 & 2, I enjoyed them for what they are. I get confused by the fans who complained that they did not live up to their expectations and that they seemed to be aimed at children rather than them, shock horror!

I am counting down the days till the tickets go on sale. I just know that we’ll have to go and watch it opening night (and perhaps a few more times after that). I am only slightly older than the Star Wars franchise, they have been an important part of my life and the source of a nick name (“How original, no one has ever called me that before”). I first watched them as a kid on video, and wore the tape out with repeat viewing. As student in Manchester, I watched the re-released special editions in the cinema. Then, deep joy, Lucas decided to make episodes one to three. The release dates seemed very far off in the late nineties, but here we are in 2005 and we are at last going to see Anakin’s metamorphism into Vader.

Comments
  1. Daisy says:

    I feel a little left out when reading of the excitement at forthcoming Star Wars, LotR, Harry Potter, etc. etc. films/boooks but can’t summon up the enthusiasm to actually watch/read them. Despite living with a long time LotR (40+ years) fan I’ve managed to avoid watching the dvds except for the documentary on the actor who plays Gollum which I must admit was fascinating.

Leave a Reply

