the one were I reminisce

Posted: 02/03/2005 in film

A certain scene from a particular film can overshadow your memory of it. Forest Gump’s leg braces falling off. The courtroom scene where Jack Nicholson goes ballistic. Nicholson, again, breaking out of the mental institution or an angry John Cusack holding the boom box in a potentially futile gesture. He is not submissive, but defiant to the last.

Say Anything is R ‘n’ J, or the princess in the tower but screwed up. You want her to come to the window, to let him know that she still loves him, but life is not straight forward and the movies are not always a fairy tale (well, at least not till the end). I probably have a very biased opinion of films from the 80s and early 90s – since this was my coming of age. I felt like the awkward misfit from Breakfast Club, who wanted Jason Patric to rescue her, whilst having adventures in baby-sitting and Winona was the poster girl. I love the underdog, the geek and the outsider – Christian Slater in Pump up the Volume, John Cusack in everything, River Phoenix in Mosquito Coast and Matthew Broderick in WarGames or Project X. For me Tom Cruise or Rob Lowe were too slick, too obvious.

Nearly fifteen years on I still get chills from Say Anything, IMO it has stood the test of time when others of that era have dated. The supporting cast are brilliant (Joan Cusack, Lil Taylor, John Mahoney and of course Jeremy Piven) but why does Diane’s father look younger in Fraiser than this? Is it just me or if some one other than Cusack delivered the lines “I gave her my heart, she gave me a pen” or “I met her in a mall, I should have known it was doomed” they would have been tacky and shallow? The passive aggressive father ends up in jail and the distraction goes to England, Cinderella couldn’t have wanted for a better ending. It is as sharp and funny as my first viewing, except now I understand. I understand why when asked about his plans for the future, Lloyd answers “Do for life, do for a living, be with your daughter”. Sometimes it is enough to love or be loved.

Comments
  1. jennifer c. says:

    Yes! I’m so glad you did a thing on Say Anything! That movie receives more than its fair share of neglect, merely because it is older.

    I’m sure the aging is intentional. He was under a lot of stress! Getting audited by the IRS and breaking the law and stealing thousands of dollars from old people and whatnot. Terrible stuff. That would prematurely age anyone!

  2. Fi says:

    Mmm… in the 80’s I identified with Molly Ringwald, being ever so slightly nerdy, red headed, with secret crushes on unobtainable boys.

    Say Anything – is that the one where John Cusack plays that Peter Gabriel song (Your Eyes?) really loud outside the girl’s window?

Leave a Reply

