down in the dumps

Posted: 01/31/2005 in Stuff & Nonsense

This was a pretty good day up until an hour or so ago, when I discovered that my little brother had been dispatched back into singledom by his girlfriend, also a close friend of mine from uni, of two plus years.

It seems to have come as a shock, and hit him hard being the perennial nice guy that he is. I don’t know the ins and outs, and I am not sure that I want to. But, I hate to see my sibling upset – even though we ourselves fight like cat and dog when in the same time zone, and don’t agree on anything out of principle. Well, he did eat my black cherry yogurt in 1984, and I did cheat him out of his holiday savings in 1986, but I had to pay him back and I am still waiting for my yogurt!

So, I ask is there a “nice” way to get dumped? Should person A let down person B slowly, let them see that the “road close” sign is looming on the horizon??? Or is the quick method best? In situations like this I am reminded about a British comedy series Joking Apart – where the main character’s wife slowly moved her furniture out piece by piece and then starts freezing her husband lots of meals. In hindsight it was all so clear – but still a shock.

I am more upset by this than I thought I would be, in a strange kind of Princess Diana way. Oh, and the reason why it was a good day – I have a job interview tomorrow. Wish me luck.

Comments
  1. jennifer c. says:

    How was that job interview?

Leave a Reply

