discomfort

Posted: 01/30/2005 in books, film

I am in a bit of pain at the moment. An old sports injury is playing up and my right shoulder joint is creaking, aching and generally being a drag. I think I aggravated it hauling my luggage through London’s transport network on Wednesday. My book laden luggage I should clarify. I guess it is not that strange that I went novel buying crazy after my exams, since I had denied myself new reading matter for the last two months in order to catch up with my back log (which was a success).

I got some ace titles for Christmas from my furtherest and dearest – The Time Traveler’s Wife, Bonfire of the Vanities, Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Alexander McCall Smith’s von Igelfield trilogy, six individually wrapped Shakespeare plays (to be opened one per month) and Hillary Clinton’s autobiography to name a few. Of course I couldn’t resist picking up the new Rebus and a semi -fluffy selection of 3 for 2 from Waterstones (The Jane Austen Book Club, The Good Doctor and the new Helen Fielding).

It took me next to no time to get through von Igelfield and very funny they were too. I started Fleshmarket Close whilst I was in Edinburgh (v atmospheric) and Rankin is in top form. It’s a little spooky that Rebus’ side kick is now evolving into his double, but there is a nice Mulder/Scully sexual tension building. I am really not sure what to make of The Jane Austen Book Club, definite chick lit but I couldn’t really empathize with any of the characters. I am a huge Austen fan, so anything that uses her as a theme is okay by me but the mirroring of her plots with the lives of the Book Club’s character was a little clunky in places. A nice Sunday morning read, when you fancy a lie in and have a continuous supply of coffee and pastries by your side.

I better rest up as typing is rather painful. Unwisely, I spent the afternoon in the company of Mavis Beacon. I am sure if I wasn’t distracted by my shoulder and the goings on of Captain Wentworth my typing speed might have been a tad quicker. So, I shall retire to watch Tomb Raider 2 with a hot milky drink and feel just a little bit sorry for myself. (But even sorrier for Alex, who is stuck at work on a Sunday – now that does take the biscuit).

Leave a Reply

