growing pains

Posted: 07/08/2004 in daily life
Tags: ,

Whilst I was away Alex starting visiting a chiropractor, at first I was rather dismissive. Since he doesn’t suffer chronic back pain just the odd twinge and the usual wonky shoulders from years of carrying book bags.

This week I decided to get in on the act – what’s good enough for the goose and all that. I must admit that I have always written off my aches to my ill fitting skeleton, according to my yoga teachers I am hyper-mobile or family lore says I hail from loose jointed stock. I do have poor posture (a tendency to hunch my shoulders..all those years of studying) and a tight pain between my shoulder blades. In my defence, eighteen months of yoga has made a marked improvement – I know this because my mum always comments that I am walking straighter every time I see her – but my shoulders are still tight but flexible (go figure).

I really thought that the chiropractor would tell me to keep my head up and make sure I wear both straps of my rucksack, but no I have actual spine/neck problems that require correction!!! Tomorrow I am off for spinal x-rays (Alex’s problem didn’t require them) and then on Tuesday she will finish diagnosing me. She was very reassuring, I am young and this is the best time to sort out these problems before you get older and they really become an issue…. Here’s something scary one shoulder is higher than the other and to compensate the opposite ear is lower!!! And when she put my arms together, straight out in front, the palms overlap rather than matching because of the muscles in my back…

For years I didn’t think there was anything wrong with me – aren’t our bodies meant to ache?

Well, apparently not!

Leave a Reply

