dog ‘n’ bone

Posted: 04/27/2004 in daily life
Tags: ,

I have finally made a telephone cold caller hang up on me. I am thrilled.

The amount of calls I receive on a whole range of products, but primary credit cards, is phenomenal..my new technique is just to keep repeating the phrases “I have no idea what you are talking about/I don’t understand a word you are saying” and they will get so frustrated that they give up 🙂

I used to try and be clever saying things like “If I am at home in the middle of the day do you really think you should be offering me credit?” but it was wasted….then I started pretending to be the cleaner but that was only a delaying tactic.

Years ago I read an article about a British family, that when answering cold calls would say “I am sorry I don’t speak French let me get someone who can understand you” and then they would pass it on to the French speaker of the family who would totally confuse them.

Comments
  1. authgeek says:

    I’m stuck trying to decide what you could possibly do to get these people off the phone but at the same time, they’re working as telemarketers and chances are that they’re not having a good time – I don’t really want to make their job more of pain in the ass than it already is. It’s a fine line…

  2. jennifer c. says:

    We have always said “Please put me on your no call list.” That really gets their attention. They’re usually like “Oh, I’ll do that right now. Have a nice day.” Apparently, if they call you after you’ve said that, you can sue them for some outrageous quantity of money. We rarely get telemarketers anymore, because we always say that.

  3. Alex Hung says:

    I told Leah to say that phrase too but obviously her method is more entertaining 🙂

  4. flaming zinc says:

    I agree it is a fine line and I have been in their position so I know how it feels trying to meet quotas and get leads. But it is the sheer quantity of calls that come through that is totally amazing (in the UK you might get 1 or 2 a month here it is 8 to 10 a week) and their continual surprise that I have no interest in their products.

    I will try and remember the “No call list” in future but when Alex told me I thought it was an urban myth.

  5. Daisy says:

    1 or 2 a month in the UK? We get 4-5 a week, including a new method of playing a recorded message down the phone. I haven’t stuck around long enough to find out if you ever reach a human operator but it’s bloody annoying.

  6. flaming zinc says:

    things must have stepped up a notch since I have been living in the UK…..I got caught out with one of those automated calls still better then when it’s just a spam call from a fax machine!

Leave a Reply

