One hit wonder?

Posted: 04/20/2004 in films
Tags: , ,

I’m having a bad day, feeling v grumpy and my morning was rather disruptive. So to brighten up my pm I thought I’d see a movie before yoga. My gut said Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind but given the large cloud hovering overhead I decided to go for something more linear – Connie and Carla.

It stars the leads from Muriel’s Wedding and My Big Fat Greek Wedding as best friends from school on the run from mobsters and ended up hiding out as drag queens…the twist they are a huge success (so much for laying low) and then one of them falls for the straight brother (the ever yummy Fox Mulder David Duchovny. This film is quite definitely an X File and it should be locked in a filing cabinet never to see the light of day again.

Yup – it was bad..not even the sparkly costumes and soundtrack could save it.

Nia Vardalos, unfortunately, dominates the film – she has no chemistry with either of her co-stars and the dialogue was flat and uninspired. The uber talent Toni Collette is shamefully sidelined, wasted and in short ‘bonsied’ (def. her roots and branches trimmed so she cannot out shine anyone else). Duchovny looks uncomfortable through out and was probably waiting (and hoping) for Ashton Kutcher to jump out to ‘punk’ him.

IMO if MBFGW had not been such a cash cow then this would not have seen the light of day – or not with out some serious script doctoring.

My advice if you want to see a drag movie watch the wonderful Priscilla Queen of the Desert, a best friends from high school adventure Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion and for the ultimate cross-dressing on the run from the mob film Some Like it Hot.

Comments
  1. jennifer c. says:

    Quasi-off topic, but I lurrve Some Like It Hot! What a classic! I had heard somewhere that Tony Curtis’ voice as the femme wasn’t actually his voice, as he could not get it that high. All of his lines (as the femme) were dubbed. Pretty wild, eh?

  2. flaming zinc says:

    Wow – will have to rewatch the movie to see if I can tell it’s not Tony Curtis talking.

    I love classic movies – last week I saw Charade again, what an amazing film and such a snappy script. Couldn’t believe it was the only movie that Cary Grant and Audery Hepburn appeared together.

  3. Daisy says:

    I wonder if it’s true about the voice? I want to watch it again now to see if you can tell. I loved Priscilla too. How about The Crying Game?

  4. flaming zinc says:

    Yup – love The Crying Game and that they were able to keep the ‘twist’ quiet. I don’t think in todays publicity driven film world it would be able to happen…which is such a shame.

Leave a Reply

