There was no possibility of taking a walk that day….so we sat about surfing the internet

Posted: 04/11/2004 in books, culture, films
Tags: , , ,

After stagnating on ‘Jude the Obscure’ for nearly a month, I set myself the challenge of racing Radio 4’s Book @ Bedtime to see who could finish ‘Jane Eyre’ first.

Since I am not restrained to fifteen minutes Monday to Friday, it is no surprise that I have won 🙂

I found it rather unsettling – my memory of Jane was as a timid mouse of a character (a la Fanny Price of Mansfield Park) but she is a scheming little vixen and cut from the same cloth as Becky Sharp. I would not have put it past her to have set Rochester’s bed alight herself!

I am ashamed to admit it but I saw a very bad film about Rochester and his first wife Wide Sargasso Sea, I lay the blame squarely with cable and it was definitely a mortgage movie for all concerned! A mixture of corsets, voodoo and clipped British accents….I hang my head in shame….

Comments
  1. Daisy says:

    Dammit, must you put temptation in my path? Time to down tools and start rereading Jane bloody Eyre. Yippeee!

Leave a Reply

